“What Does It Take?” Project Begins

Before I landed a job, when I was but a wee lad itching for work, I’d often look at a demo reel of a local motion design studio and ask myself, “What does it take to work there?” This is something I can imagine many young designers and artists often ask themselves but never really find the answer to.

The Transformative Power of Personal Projects

Recently I came across a video of a guy named Ji Lee and it was a presentation about the power of personal projects (which you can see here). Now I’ve had ideas for personal projects before, many times I’ve fiddled around with After Effects or Cinema 4D just for my own amusement. Mr. Lee, however, had a very good point, something that he learned from his own personal project.

Sharing is rewarding.

I can’t say I am an expert in After Effects or Final Cut Pro and definitely not Cinema 4D, but when I get a chance to share what I do know with other people, for lack of a better choice of words, it just feels good.

Earlier That Day…

There I was sitting at my desk with not much to do and, like a thief in the night, this idea struck me. If I lived in a cartoon it would’ve been one of those moments where a light bulb would’ve “dinged” on the top of my head. What was something that I was passionate about that I could follow through and share with other people a lot of other people?

Enter the “What Does it Take?” project.

I google’d around and luckily found this outdated list of motion design companies in Toronto (I say outdated because some of the companies listed do not exist anymore or are no longer in Toronto). I went through each of their sites, clicked on the contact page, looked for the creative director (or equivalent) and sent out a mass email to over 20 studios in Toronto. Essentially, I asked them “what does it take to work with you” and wanted their response to be tweet-sized (140 char.) and no more.

The responses are trickling in and whether I get 1 response or all 20+ of them, I’ll share what I get. If you would like to input your tweet-sized response to this age-old question feel free to leave a comment or email me at chris.tarroza[at]gmail.com.

A big thank you to everybody who takes part!

Some of the responses can be seen below. If you want to view all of them, click here!

“First off recommendation from an employee. OR a shit hot demo that shows a clear parallel between our work and your skill set.” ~ Mike Moore, Big Studios

“A love for good design and animation. Self motivated and eager to learn. A healthy ego without an overblown sense of entitlement & SKILLZ.” ~ Ron Gervais – Creative Director | Partner, iamstatic, @iamstaticstudio

One thought on ““What Does It Take?” Project Begins

Leave a Reply

