Moving On After Final Cut Pro

Goodbye old friend.

Final Cut Pro will always have a special place in my heart. Believe it or not, before even touching iMovie, Windows Movie Maker, or even knowing what Adobe Premiere was, I learned how to use FCP. In my grade 10 film class there were 2 iMacs that had FCP installed. Many horribly shot, toilet humoured short films were made back in that day using none other than Final Cut Pro.

And that is why it is a little sad to see Final Cut Pro 7 in the state that it is in today, slowly breathing it’s last breath. At the moment of writing this post, with a press of a CMD + TAB, FCP 7 is open with an ongoing commercial project that will soon be broadcasted sometime next week. I’m still holding onto this dear friend, with it’s interface that pretty much hasn’t changed since I opened it that first time in high school.

But this time next year, I will have probably moved on from the death of FCP 7. To be honest, I am actually quite excited. I enjoy learning new things and experiencing new challenges. The question though is whether it’ll be Avid, the industry standard that all the big boys use, or Adobe Premiere Pro, with it’s ever growing list of features that continually impress even some in Hollywood. And surely, it can’t possibly be FCPX. Can it?

Some things I won’t miss…

Frankly, I am not loyal to any company and their flagship software. My biggest deciding factors are efficiency and market share in the industry. With Avid, there’s not much to say on that front, at least in terms of market share. It’s not going away any time soon and with dreams of one day working on a major cable or network television show, it seems like the way to go. But boy, does Premiere Pro ever seem alluring. Native editing of nearly every codec, integration with After Effects and other Adobe programs, and it’s ability to work with FCP XML files. Seems like a no brainer.

And Avid? Well, it’s Avid! Enough said.

That doesn’t seem like a very valid argument but it’s enough for me. You see, there’s something about Avid and it’s not really it’s capabilities as an NLE. To be honest, I haven’t used Avid in a long time and my current knowledge of the software is iffy at best. The most alluring aspect of Avid is it’s market share in the industry. There must be a reason why the majority of big-budget films and television shows use Avid. And if that’s where I want to go, it only makes sense to follow suit.

The next few months are definitely going to be fun as I really dive into the ins and outs of Avid and Premiere Pro. Heck, I might even really check out FCPX. Don’t knock it until you try it, they say. Knowing that the Final Cut that I’ve grown to know and love is pretty much dead, it’s time to start moving on. NLE’s, being a form of technology, always evolve. Aside from knowing where to place that perfect cut, keeping up with the tech is part of the job.


Poor FCP X doesn’t get any love from the Conan editors.

So have you jumped ship from FCP 7? If so, which one and are you any impressed? Sound off in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

