“I Want Everything We Do To Be Beautiful.” Saul Bass

“I want everything we do to be beautiful. I don’t give a damn whether the client understands that that’s worth anything, or that the client thinks it’s worth anything, or whether it is worth anything. It’s worth it to me. It’s the way I want to live my life. I want to make beautiful things, even if nobody cares.” ~Saul Bass

On this day, 16 years ago, Saul Bass passed away. Some would say he was the father of kinetic typography. At the very least, he revolutionized the way film title sequences are made. Some title sequences that pay homage to Bass are Catch Me If You Can, X-Men: First Class, and the opening to Mad Men.

The quote above is an excerpt from a documentary on Saul Bass. Check out the clip below to see just how passionate he is about making his work beautiful, despite whatever a client may say. Something I wished all creatives were able to do, myself included!

Leave a Reply

